confession.

12 Aug

What better way to follow up on last week’s post, where I wrote, “If this week has taught me one thing it’s that I’m genuinely ashamed to learn that I view my own sins in a much more positive light than those of someone else.”

Number 48 on the list:  Confess something you have done wrong to someone and ask them to pray for you.

Good bye, positive light.

I don’t know how to write about this one.  I took this one and made it as difficult as possible.  In that, I didn’t just confess something I did to someone.  I confessed something I did to the someone I did it to.  I don’t know how to write about this one because I’m not going to write about what I did or who I did it to.   “Confess something to someone.”  What do you even write about if you remove the “something” and the “someone”?

Confession.

Confession: I had a really easy time thinking of who to confess to.  I had a really easy time thinking of several things I had done to wrong several people.  It was difficult to narrow it down to just one.  So I didn’t.

I think if there’s something I’m learning in all of this, it’s that the difficult things are becoming less and less difficult.

There’s this home group that meets at my friend Paul’s house every Wednesday.  Yesterday we talked about Matthew 6:1-4, a passage that talks about giving.  I said that last week, while I was initially trying to write the letter to the registered sex offender, I would have given anything to just give away $100 and be done with it.  That would have been so much easier.

Confession: God does not want us to live an easy life.

I would be willing to go out on a limb and say that we have all done things to other people that no one knows about.  We’ve wronged people in ways they aren’t even aware of.  Since we’re the only humans that know every thing we’ve done, it’d be easy to just keep our wrongdoings to ourselves.

Confession: God does not want us to live an easy life.

It’d be much easier to just throw money at our problems.  But I think that was never God’s intention.  I think He intended for us to face loving people head on.  It’s not easy.  Sometimes it’s doing something that no one even knew needed to be done.  But it does need to be done.  And it hurts so good.

I confessed something to someone the other day and it hurt so good.

Confession: My soul is filled with joy when it’s not easy.  I imagine that it fills God with joy as well.

One Response to “confession.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. facebook. « 50 ways. - 07.16.2010

    […] Confession:  God does not want us to live an easy life.  (See: “Confession“) […]

Leave a Reply

